About the SMUD Solar Initiative
 
On August 21, 2006, Governor Schwarzenegger signed Senate Bill 1 into law, creating a $3.35B solar program to install 3,000MW of solar photovoltaic systems and bring solar energy into the mainstream. More information about solar programs in California can be found on the public website, Go Solar California.

SB1 also created a requirement that municipal utilities in California play a role in meeting the State's 3000MW target. The SMUD Solar Initiative was created for this purpose.

FUNDING LIMITS UNDER THIS LEGISLATION WERE FULLY SUBSCIBED BY JULY 1, 2016. THE SMUD SB1 MANDATED PROGRAM IS NOW CLOSED.

Projects submitted in PowerClerk1 (from this portal) will still be administered through this application through the project Completion status

Program and Interconnection Application Update: Effective 7/11/2016

In order to continue to support solar and other renewable energies on our service territory, SMUD has created a new Distributed Generation stipend program to assist our customers in installing solar and other renewable energy technologies in our service territory.

Residential installations may be eligible for a $500 stipend. 

Commercial installations will depend upon the size of the project and range from $1000-$5000

SMUD is now accepting interconnection applications for all distributed generation projects in PowerClerk2.  Please follow the link below to input your application for the new programs. You will be able to self register and gain access rights for the new portal and will find links to all helpful documents.                                                                               

New Distributed Generation Program Application Portal (PowerClerk2):  

https://smudinterconnect.powerclerk.com/Account/Login


General Program and Customer related Distributed Generation Projects:

      Commercial and Residential PV: Brent Sloan, 916-732-5878,  brent.sloan@smud.org

Commercial Technical Reviews and Approvals: 

      Bobbie Harris, 916-732-6326,  Bobbie.Harris@smud.org 

Residential Inspections

      Hector Ortiz, 916-732-6882,  hector.ortiz@smud.org 

        Levi Mclaughlin, 916-732-7215,   levi.mclaughlin@smud.org  

Administrative Support: 

      Paula Mitchell, 916-732-6096, paula.mitchell@smud.org                                

        Kedrienne Richardson, 916-732-6845, kedrienne.richardson@smud.org    

        Kerrylynn Nagasawa 916-732-7214  kerrylynn.nagasawa@smud.org 

  
                                                      
SMUD Privacy Policy Statement